Bless the Lord, O My Soul

I love how God uses His word to tell us about Himself. Sometimes when I am reading the Psalms in particular I am struck with the words God uses to reveal His nature. While at a coffee shop today I was led to read Psalm 103, and I especially love the verbs in verses 1-5.

“Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is with me, bless his holy name! Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” (ESV)

How can anyone say that God is unknowable? Yes, surely He is a mystery. But these verses are but one example of God telling us what He does because of who He is. Notice that the verbs are in active, present tense. We don’t have to wait on Him to do these things. They are not being withheld from us. They are being done within us now…as we speak. My God forgives, heals, redeems, crowns, and satisfies. Why does He do this? He is in the process of reconciling His creation to Himself. He is preparing His creation to once again be in His presence.

I also value how David, the author of this particular Psalm, is demonstrating the appropriate response to this revelation of who God is. Praise! I can think of no better response to the realization that everything around me, of which I am only a small part, is being forgiven, healed, redeemed, crowned, and satisfied. “Bless the LORD, bless His holy name, Bless the LORD…” The repetition only serves to emphasize the importance of the response.

Leave a Reply

